Skip to content

My Imagination Sucks

October 9, 2009

I don’t know how many of you reading this have ever tried to write a story or anything, but let me explain my process to you: I get an idea, I play it out in my head, then I write some of it out, and then I lose my concentration on the story and move to another. Any of you ever do that? It’s annoying in the extreme. I have some interesting ideas, but they run like a fucking reel to reel in my head and when the scene or ‘movie’ is over I tend not to write it.

I think it may be a form of ADD, but I don’t have that problem with anything else…er…scratch that…mathematics I do that with…it’s math (or maths if you prefer) though! Who honestly has an in-depth desire to learn that whose profession has nothing to do with it? No one I know. Anyway, going off of that bit of a tangent; I really have some nice ideas I want to get out there, but I have trouble focusing all of them. And I don’t know what to do and if it’ll ever change. I feel like I’ve lost a piece of my creativity when I’m like this. I can do designs real well and focus on it and whatnot, but the writing…not so much these days.

Ah well, fuck it…I’m going back to trying to form a whole story.

One Comment leave one →
  1. dropthatwand permalink
    November 16, 2009 4:07 pm

    I know exactly what you’re saying. I have like 500 stories, not more than ten pages long, because I constantly lose concentration or get inspired by something else(mostly that). It’s more a discipline problem than an imagination problem for me. Sometimes I can’t go to bed without having a story roll around in my head. I need something think about it before I go to sleep. Then in the morning I start on something new. It’s very, very irritating to feel I never achieve something. The mind travels too fast, my fingers too slow, so I get frustrated trying to type the story down. But I will never stop writing. It’s a vent, it’s a pick-me-up, and sometimes, when I feel it’s good, it’s just magical. I don’t really have any advice for you to be able to stay in one story, since I share the same problem, except to go and live in a cave somewhere with no interruptions. But how much fun is that? 🙂 Your post could have been my own, so I just had to leave a comment. Good luck with your writing. Keep safe.

Leave a Reply

