Skip to content

World Of Wonders

July 1, 2010

Come one, come all, see the spectacular web logger with zero page views and low self-esteem. He dazzles and he frazzles and he pisses all over your pre-conceived notions of what is ‘right’. He’ll twist your thoughts and make you totally insane. Do you dare to view? Be my guest. See if you come out the same way as before…

Ahem…now that that happy horseshit is over I’ve got a complaint. Not a big one, mind you, but one that bugs me: Do you write your web log to get views or do you genuinely like just writing down your life? Me, I like writing down my thoughts and tidbits about my neuroses. I never set out to get any viewers or permanent readers and if you look at my stats I think I’ve succeeded. But I honestly wonder why that stat bar is even there. Is it to encourage you to post or is it so you feel so bad that you must try to get readers or viewers? I dunno.

The whole idea that we need to cater our web logs to any sort of audience bothers me, actually. I was/am chatting kind of with my friend Roni about it. See, she sees people advertising your posts and sharing them on your web log as acknowledging. I see it as advertising. And it sort of is both. I think. Depending on the context. My whole thing is that my web log is about me, my stupidity, and my various neurotic behaviors. And if no one ever views this page that’s fine by me. So, again, do you write your web log for attention and to promote yourself or do you do it because you enjoy it?

I know the cries of, “False dichotomy!” Shall spring up from reading this. So, if you do it for both, congrats. You’re a better person than I. In my opinion I think these places serve to share your thoughts and experiences, and hoping to get attention from that is sort of odd. At least to me. It feels like you’re putting a premium on something that should be at least semi-private. After all, the anonymity of the internet is why these things exist to share your thoughts. You would never go to a party and yell out, “I think that bitch is a fucking cunt!” But you could do it here and no one would bat an eyelash.

Anyway, that’s all for now.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 10:16 pm

    Then why publish publicly? Why allow comments? Why not just keep a private journal?

    I do write for myself but I also blog to find like minded individuals. I blog to connect with others, to share thoughts, to teach and be taught.

    Linking to others isn’t advertising them it’s using this medium (the web) the way it is supposed to be used.

    I mean there really aren’t any “rules” but there’s web etiquette. Like linking someone’s name when you mention them. It’s kind of like letting someone in on the highway. Some people do it and some people don’t. It takes all kinds, I guess.

Leave a Reply

