Skip to content

The Road Less Traveled–Or How Do You Know You’re Lost

July 8, 2010

Let’s start off: I like Robert Frost poetry, his naturalist approach to the whole thing is just awe-inspiring and it actually makes me long for the kind of settings in some of his poems. But this is more about the clichéd poem. Clichéd in the sense that everyone and their grandmother likes this expression. I’m sure I’m not the only one who has thought about this line:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I-
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Great imagery about finding your own path, but when do you go from “the road less traveled” to “Completely fucking lost and refusing to ask for directions”? I’ve often wondered that. And as I took my semi-nightly shower the thought crossed my mind again. Maybe it’s because of my birthday and that I feel like I have no path set out for me. I feel like I’ve crossed that threshold to ‘less traveled’ and more like ‘lost’. Which is why I’m wondering this.

Do you measure your path by how much you’ve done or feeling like you’ve arrived at your destination? At this point I feel like I’m stumbling around in the woods with a flashlight and clearly no idea what I’m doing. I guess that’s how your 20’s usually feel, though. I think. But I know a lot of people who are somewhat where they want to be and it bugs me to no end. I normally try not to measure myself against what everyone else is doing, but sometimes it just stares you right in your face. So I look at other people and they’re doing fine and I’m…not.

Or I don’t think I am. I mostly have a degree in graphic design and no job as of yet as a designer and no idea how to bust out of this shell of mine. As you can see, this is no way to live. And it’s also why I wonder if I’m lost or if I’m still cutting out my own path. That and wondering if I’ll ever get to where I want to be. I know: “Life is a journey, not a destination,” it comes from so many sources that it must be true, right? But even journeys end. Just look at where Steve Perry and the gang are at now. *rimshot* Oh wait…even they haven’t ended. Well, I guess I’m truly fucked, aren’t I?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 9, 2010 10:27 am

    This is a part of life. I know how you feel. Everyone tells me not to compare myself to others, but I do it all the time. It’s a tough thing. Just know you always have a kindred spirit in me to talk to about any of it.

Leave a Reply

