Skip to content

Flashbacks In Movies

February 24, 2013

I couldn’t think of a better title for this, but am I the only one that hates flashbacks in movies? I was watching Point Break today and the part where Lori Petty says to Keanu Reeves that he looks like he just saw a ghost and bam…there it is. The flashback earlier in the movie where Gary Busey says the ex-presidents are ghosts. I thought the scene worked as it was without the needless flashback, because you could obviously see it on Keanu’s face what he was thinking. Especially with the ghost bit and aha…the audience gets it. But no. Instead we’re treated to that scene where it holds our hand to tell us where our minds should be for that scene.

To me it just strikes me as some exec or director figuring the audience would be too stupid to figure things out and thus we need the early reference. I also do not like when they treat it as a memory and it’s obviously from a third party camera and not from their eyes. It just kind of takes me out of the movie. Anyone else feel this way?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2013 4:53 pm

    Sometimes they work and sometimes they don’t. Point Break wasn’t one of my favs so obviously, it didn’t work in this movie!

    • February 24, 2013 6:11 pm

      I dunno. It really depends on the movie, you’re right, but I just feel like they’re mocking me every time I see one. Unless it’s something like LOTR with Faramir’s flashback in the EE that actually added some characterization to the character and didn’t make you feel like a total jackass for viewing it.

Leave a Reply

