Skip to content

Self-loathing Or Why I Hate Groups

July 23, 2013

Disclaimer: This post contains extremely vulgar and offensive language, read on if you’re okay with it, but you’ve been warned.

I originally wanted to post about how much I hate being associated with gamers, but really…I’m just anti-groupings, cliques, circle jerks, and whatever else people do on their free time. See…I’m a gamer and I hate gamers or at least on a whole I hate gamers. Their sexism and racism just makes me cringe whenever I see it, ‘Yeah Mr. 14 Year Old, I’m a n—er faggot because I’m better than you.’ What does that even mean? I’ve also been called a ‘fag’ many a time as well in TFC for being a spy and knifing them in the back.

Not to mention how these little boys react when there’s a hint that they might be invaded by the dreaded….girls! Oh no! Vagina! Run for the hills! They have cooooooties! So it’s safe to say that while I do game I don’t consider myself a ‘gamer’, because to me that means asociating with these 12 year old little shits who use words and phrases that they barely comprehend. Then there’s the goddamn adults who should know better that still say ‘ghey’ as if that makes the phrase any less insulting. I’ll tell you…purposely misspelling the word in no way detracts from the intent.

But then I thought about other things and ideologies I identify with: Atheism, being liberal and progressive, believing in no animal cruelty, etc. And I found that I really can’t stand my compatriots with these beliefs and feelings. Sure, individually I’m cool with everyone, but on the whole…man…I facepalm way more than I should. Especially with rabidly anti-theist Atheists. They just make my head shake so much I could swear it’d fall off.

I’ve met some really level-headed theists and some really, really crackpot Atheists and vice versa. I don’t hate people enough and I pledge loyalty to no one except my friends and my family and definitely no sort of grouping. Then there’s liberals who think the world would just be okay if we followed their guides to living well–which brings me to my other point: these groups are all intrusive in their own ways and demand a fee and usually that fee is your brain power and dedication to the cause.

PeTA? Hahaha….need I say anything about those bloody bunch of hypocrites? And yeah, you’ll find all of these things in any group–that’s my point: there is no happy ending to joining any of these causes. They all suck the life and sanity out of their membership. So what is the point of all of this? I don’t know. This isn’t a, ‘I’m more sane than thee,’ rant. I’m just frustrated with the current state of affairs that means I have to side and associate with people I find really scummy who give their groups bad names. And then the ‘No True Scotsman’ defense goes into full swing when someone’s really uncouth. But that’s all bullshit. They were steady members of your group before they fucked up and they’re still members and identify with their group afterward.

The only change is that they really fucked up and gave the members a black-eye. The same goes with Christians who disavow the Westboro Baptist Church. Oh sure, they’re horrible, horrible people, but they’re definitely Christians who identify as such. So, again, the point of this? Does there need to be one? Here’s your moral: Don’t join or make a group a part of your identity. Those people are not your friends. Make up your own mind and follow your own compass.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2013 4:07 am

    I feel like this… oh… just about every waking moment of my life.

    • July 24, 2013 12:23 pm

      Do you get ragey as a result or is it more a slow simmer until someone causes you to snap?

      • July 24, 2013 2:00 pm

        Definitely a slow simmer.

      • July 25, 2013 7:49 am

        Ah, same here. Hence my blagh entry. It reached a tipping point when I wrote it.

Leave a Reply

