Skip to content

Creatively Unfeeling

August 20, 2013

I have this web page open for journal prompts and I’ve had this thing open for months and I look to it sometimes and then turn away and go do something else. I don’t know why I even bother leaving it open. I guess I just have this faint hope that I’ll look at it one day and say, “AHA! I know what I want to write about on my blagh.” But I never do. The thing is that I really do enjoy updating this blagh, but I worry I don’t have enough material to talk about. It goes back to my earlier entry about fighting irrelevancy.

Here’s a prompt: What do you think about ghosts?

I think ghosts are BS. Nay, total horsecrap invented by people afraid to die and desperately hoping their world is more mysterious than the mundane rock that we live on at the moment. However, I do like to indulge in a good ghost story. I like to be scared and I like the more mysterious kind of scares. Well, it could be true that ghosts exist. And it could be true that people have seen stuff. All of that could be true. I have no doubt that people have seen stuff. Now, whether it is what they say it is is another story.

You ever see a dot on your wall and you stare at it in wonder of what it could be and you double pinky swear you saw it move and then upon closer examination it’s just a piece of dirt? That’s sort of what I think ghosts are. Yeah, you saw it. It moved and you saw something out of the corner of your eye, but it was likely something else. My friend tends to put things he can’t easily explain away into its own category of ‘unexplained’ and not outright ‘ghost’. I like this system as it keeps an open mind, but doesn’t say anything definitive. It could’ve been a ghost or a hallucination.

Speaking of hallucinations, did you know they’re fairly common? Yeah, completely healthy minds hallucinate for no apparent reason. That feeling, when you’re alone and you feel like you’re being watched? That is the most common hallucination that people have. So, I’m not saying that people who’ve seen ghosts are making it up or necessarily hallucinating, but what I am saying is that they’ve experienced something unexplained and rather than just going, “Ghosts!” Try to examine the situation.

Think about why you’re seeing a ‘ghost’. Go over the events and see if ‘ghost’ is the most likely outcome. Is it repeatable? Has it happened to anyone else? Ask around. But don’t describe your experience to them because then they get to thinking about what you’ve experienced and then they claim they’ve had it too. The human mind is a funny thing and the mirror neurons in our heads are always active and I think that’s likely how we get things like Folie à deux and why hypochondria exists.

For me, I still love ghost stories and the scarier the better, but I think it’s more the mystery than the ‘ghost’ itself that really sticks to me. The feeling of not knowing how truthful the story is and I like that. I like horror that makes you think about these things. But I do know in the back of my mind that they’re not real. Anyway…guess that prompt really did work this time, ‘eh?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

