Skip to content

This Is Going To Be So Meta (Or Not)

August 22, 2013

I’ve had a bit of a quandary lately with regards to how much I update vs. the people who follow my blagh and oddly, I do have an audience now. The first time I had a real torrent of people keeping tabs on my blagh I had an amused take on it: I thought that it was a goof. Who really wants to read this stuff? Then as more people started following I was rather impressed.

After that I became rather self-conscious about the whole thing. True, my audience is not in the hundreds of thousands like some, but it is a rather…strange feeling to go from mostly anonymity on here to actually being read and followed. So the thoughts start creeping in: ‘To what, if any, responsibility do I owe the people who read this thing to update.’ There is no manual on web logging–or I should say, consistent manual. Everyone you ask about this topic will likely give a different answer.

It’s really a tough situation to be in with something like this. I like updating and I like sharing my thoughts and trivialities, this blagh is an escape valve. I can let off steam and post whatever the hell’s bugging me any day. But now people are reading and I’m over-thinking and I’ve been rather complacent with updating and…breathe. Honestly I don’t owe any of you anything. That sounds incredibly rude the way I just typed it, but I don’t. However, my sense of duty to others mandates that I at least have one freak-out per day about how I’m not updating as much.

So it’s an interesting line to straddle and one I’m still figuring out. I think when I was updating fairly regularly I was having fun with it, but after a while my thoughts just dried up so much that they turned to kindling. I think that’s also what happened to my mental state that sent me in to such a tailspin originally. Therefore I will update. Just not every day and maybe not even every week.

I think oughts needs to be nourished and replenished and just updating so much dries you up inside. Thank you for indulging me and bothering to read. If

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

