Skip to content

I Will Make It Shine

September 5, 2014

I’ve been thinking of starting a new blagh for my writings and more for poetry. Why poetry? Because I’ve loved poetry. I love reading reading poetry. Aaand I’ve never felt I was any good at it. You may be asking, ‘How can one be good at writing poetry?’ To which the voice in the back of my head will respond, ‘There has to be a right way, damnit!’ Of course I know that’s all bullshit. I’ve seen poems that flow like poetry but are written as essays. There is no ‘right’ way.

The problem I’ve always had was I’ve never felt the emotional connection to write it very well. It always required a level of vulnerability that I honestly could not muster. That’s why I’ve always stuck to writing fiction. It’s easy to write fiction, for me, because it doesn’t deal with dealing any of my own emotions. Just the emotions of other characters.

So I’m going to start this new web log and I’ll post links to it and some poems from it every now and then on here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2014 10:14 am

    Agreed. I couldn’t write poetry for the exact same reason.

    • September 5, 2014 10:19 am

      Yeah, but I’m learning to be more vulnerable. Or trying to. It doesn’t always work because I experience one setback usually and the shell comes back.

      • September 5, 2014 10:20 am

        Eventually, your inner shell will become just as tough.

      • September 5, 2014 10:21 am

        That’s true. I’ve spent about 25 years making mine tough. Hooboy…I sound ancient and I’m only 32.

      • September 5, 2014 10:22 am

        32 years young.

Leave a Reply

