Skip to content

Anxiety Flows…Like A River Of Feces

September 11, 2014

I’ve been having some anxiety lately and I think a lot of it is related to my mother’s surgery because she’ll be out of commission for at least 14 days due to a neck surgery. So I feel a little…thrown in the deep end with my anxiety, but I have been managing to keep it mostly in check. Even if I do have mornings where I worry and think the worst.

Mornings are always the worst for me because I feel really crappy physically after waking up and mentally I’m disoriented. So naturally things that wouldn’t bug me while awake…bug me when I’m only half-awake. This leads to some really stupid panic attacks. I also need to get back to a solid sleep schedule again as I feel the current thing is a little too rough for me.

So, I’m going to do this and hopefully feel more on kilter. If not…then…bleh…but I am doing things even while anxious so that’s a plus.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2014 7:45 am

    FIDo Almighty, I think the best thing to do is work through your anxiety. Try not to let it stop you from doing everyday things. I had (yes I said had) anxiety for a very long time before I was able to find and remove the cause of it. There were many days where I would let it stop me from going to the grocery store, going to work, or even taking the dog for a walk. Once I saw it more as a companion (which I know is a weird term for it) I was able to better cope until it was gone completely. Distraction and self-talk helped me a lot too. I never died from an anxiety attack so I was able to tell myself that I would get through the next one too. Hang in there. For me it was the nighttime that my anxiety was the worst, the moment when the world slowed down but my body stayed in overdrive. I could never relax enough for adequate sleep and I was always on guard. Trust your gut, it’s amazing where it can lead you.

    • September 15, 2014 9:47 am

      I’m attempting to do that and I’ve been mostly successful at it, but there’s times where I really like every nerve is exposed. And those moments are when I slip up the most and feel the most anxious. Fortunately nothing has risen to a panic attack in quite a while and I’ve been being functional even though my mind is telling me that everything is quite scary.

      • September 16, 2014 8:04 am

        Stay strong. You’ll be able to work through it. I feel if I can do it, anybody can. For me I just needed to stay positive and keep moving forward.

Leave a Reply

