Skip to content

I Are The Internet

January 10, 2015

I think the internet’s a beautiful thing that allows me to connect to pretty much anyone at any time. I have friends in the Netherlands, Australia, Sweden, England, Seattle, Caltifornia, etc. So it’s given me a lot of interesting interactions and perspectives that have shaped who I am today. But it’s also that ugly funhouse mirror that’s always twisting and distorting everyone’s shapes and their appearance. Don’t like who you are offline? Just invent a new personality that’s totally fun-loving and not at all the weirdo with homicidal tendencies that you are in your day to day. Not to be trite, but I think we are living in Aristotle’s cave scenario where we’re the ones projecting the shadows and we’re also the ones watching the shadows.

So, while I believe that the internet can be a great thing; it also makes lying a tiny bit easier–at least on a smaller scale. I mean, if you’re a politician then it’s nigh impossible to lie successfully for a while. Also, this text takes the empathy out of our words and their context. It’s generally why you see bonehead police officers go after a ‘threat’ when really the person was just having a bad day and said some awful shit. It’s amazing that we’ve created our own little world out of electronics, but we also opened up the floodgates to being horrible people toward each other with a lack of empathy and a lack of tactfulness. This all, of course, is a very trivial rant because what’s been said here has been said a thousand times before and probably better.

It’s just that I was thinking about this masochistic and sadistic relationship we have to this thing that brings everyone together. We hate the bile that can be spewed on here but at the same time we can’t live without it now. I’m not sure if I envy future generations or feel sorry for them. I can still remember a time when we weren’t so connected as I’m sure a lot of people still can, but I also can’t imagine what my life would be like now without it. I’d probably be a little more productive and a little happier. Maybe less anxious as I definitely feel that I have a case of infobesity. Anyway, what do you think?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2015 11:30 pm

    It’s just how people roll, man. Inherent contradiction is built into us, it seems to me.

  2. January 11, 2015 5:15 am

    Internet is amazing. Its all automatic and its all inherent. Let it flow and itll take you to greater heights. Just follow through

Leave a Reply

