Skip to content

Creaky Old Leg

March 10, 2015

For those of you that read this and do not know me personally: I was born with an extremely mild case of cerebral palsy which affects my right arm and leg and pretty much nothing else. Think of it as a very mild stroke–I’ve been known to have those *rimshot*– but seriously, I was born with my umbilical cord wrapped around my neck and I came out dead. That I escaped with as little damage that I have I consider myself very fortunate.

It also has the added bonus of making me feel extremely guilty whenever I see anyone with CP worse off than I am. Yeah, I say ‘bonus’ but what I really mean is burden. I know I shouldn’t feel guilty, but I do because I wonder why I was lucky enough to get away with a mild, mild, mild, mild case of it where others are not so lucky. My guilt aside, that’s not the point of this.

See, as I’ve gotten older and heavier my right foot and leg continue to under-perform in the highest. When I stand up I hobble like an old man. I get pains like one, too. It’s really not a fun thing to experience and right now I just keep thinking, “Where’s my robotic foot?” I know I probably wouldn’t go through with it even if transhumanism were a thing now, but still..nights like these are where I really loathe my body. And since I’ve joined the mile a day club (not really a club) the ache has been ten-fold. Sad thing is I can’t even put it down to poor shoes because every shoe I’ve worn has given me the ache.

Where was I going with this? I dunno, I just need to vent because this damn foot’s gonna keep me awake a little while longer.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

