Skip to content

Arrrghasm: Contractions

May 4, 2015

I know I’ve written about this before, because…quite honestly it just pisses me off when I see it, but people that use ‘of’ as a substitute for ”ve’. Could of, should of…like metal against metal for me. It’s really minor grammatical mistake and I don’t want to seem like sone elitist snob here when I say this, but I use the ability to use contractions as a big barometer for judging. I can get them some older people don’t always remember to use them and that’s fine. The problem here are people my age and younger because it’s one of the first things they teach you in English and these people type grammatically correct most of the time. So why ‘could of’ and ‘should of’? It makes no sense. You know how to differentiate between ‘you’re’ and ‘your’. You know this!

It makes me angry or at least gets under my skin because I very clearly remember learning this in the 1st grade. It’s the first grade! It’s the first building block between you speaking baby gibberish and forming complete sentences! Heh…you know the sad part? The really sad part is that I began questioning what I was taught because I saw this every goddamn place! So get it together, people.

Whew…I feel better, was this as good for you as it was for me?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2015 8:55 am

    I use this affectation for fictional characters or when I’m being sarcastic. Sometimes it adds to the atmosphere of being informal or jokey. I was weaned on classical English literature. It’s great for poetry, but if I wrote in a formal register every post, no one would read my blog or at best I would lose my non native English speaking audience. I have pet peeves, too, like “I” not capitalised. I find it distracting. It’s not too much to ask for a reread and edit. But how to point it out without seeming unkind, that is the trick.

    • May 9, 2015 9:59 am

      I understand if you’re using it for a character or in a story, but mostly when I’ve seen it has been around online discussions. It’s…annoying. I look like Mr. DeMartino from Daria whenever I see it used. I’m also not asking for people to write formally all of the time. I barely write formally at all times, but it’s such a simple thing to use and we’ve all been taught it since a very young age. That’s the troubling part.

Leave a Reply

