Skip to content

The Rocky Movies Inspire My Life

May 28, 2015

I know this seems stupid because in general, I intensely dislike inspirational films and with that in mind: Rocky inspires my life. Why? Well, it’s a good underdog story and it genuinely has a good message to it: if you get knocked down, get back up. There’s two sayings from it that I really like and one I used to great success. The first one is Rocky’s speech in Rocky Balboa. When he’s talking to his son, that just really sums up every movie and the philosophy behind it and his character:

“Then the time come for you to be your own man and take on the world, and you did. But somewhere along the line, you changed. You stopped being you. You let people stick a finger in your face and tell you you’re no good. And when things got hard, you started looking for something to blame, like a big shadow. Let me tell you something you already know. The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place and I don’t care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard you hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done! Now if you know what you’re worth then go out and get what you’re worth. But ya gotta be willing to take the hits, and not pointing fingers saying you ain’t where you wanna be because of him, or her, or anybody! Cowards do that and that ain’t you! You’re better than that!”

It was when I was starting to sink into my depression and the more it went on the further I sank and I never forgot that line, though, because it was part of what kept reminding me to fight this thing and to an extent I still am. Every day I wake up I struggle with the question, “Is today the day I’m going to have a panic attack?” Fortunately, lately, that question’s been fading from my mind and replaced with, “What am I going to accomplish today?”  But it’s always there. Is today the day I’m finally going to break? What happens when I do? It’s tough going through that, but right now I’m still at a stage where I’m stronger, but I’m still not as strong mentally as I want to be.

I know the anxiety’s just waiting in the background and ready to pounce and most days I can tune it out, but some days my brain just gives in to the illogic of it and fortunately it hasn’t given in all the way during those times. So…that’s still a battle I’m fighting and winning but just barely some days and today’s one of them. I just feel tired and my brain’s going, “I is stupid, let’s have anxiety.” And it is. But I’m focusing on updating this blagh, hence the three entries.

Aren’t you so happy to be my catharsis? The other line is from Apollo Creed in Rocky III when he just gets sick of Rocky’s defeatism and yells, “There is no tomorrow!” I used that line to great effect on Algebra class in college. See, I signed up for a summer semester and you only have 5 weeks to get that shit done. Aaaaand I’d been just barely passing mid-way through. So I kept repeating it over and over in my head, “There is no tomorrow!” I kept saying to myself.

Then the 4th of July break came up and the final was the next week. So I sat down with the Back To The Future trilogy on in the background and studied my ass off. I took that final in about 25 minutes (we had 2 hours to finish) and to this day I really can’t remember what the hell I did. But I ended that class with a B and I was fucking thrilled. THRILLED!

People give these movies shit for being schmaltzy and kinda stupid–especially the later movies, but they do have some pearls of wisdom in them. And they did put some incorporeal thoughts I’d been having into a solid form. They also inspired me to get through this depression and anxiety. And for that I’m thankful.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

