Skip to content

Independence Day

July 6, 2015

Well, this is kind of late, but this past Saturday I celebrated my own personal independence day. See, I was originally slated to go with my brother and his fiance to a gathering and I didn’t. I also didn’t want to stay home alone because…well…anxiety. Yeah, I have a problem staying home by myself for extended periods of time because I’m deathly afraid of having a panic attack. So my dad was out, my mother had stuff she needed to do and my brother made the salient point: being alone for extended periods of time is a weakness of mine—not socializing. Schmoozing I can do when I want. 

Soo…out of options and clearly breaking down because of my frustration I stayed home alone. Aaaand…really fucking enjoyed it. It was so peaceful and quiet and all I was doing was marathoning Seinfeld. I was here for a good 2 1/2-3 hours alone and got through it with no issue or any anxiety outside of the first 20 minutes or so. 

Soooooo….yeah….my independence day, of sorts. Where I made my stand against my anxiety and got through it unscathed. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

