Skip to content

Cynical But Still A Little Jaded? HA!

August 10, 2015

As some of you may see if you go to this page proper I have a tagline that says, “No longer cynical but still a little jaded,” I’ve had that tagline for a at least 2 years now, but I never really gave it much thought as I wrote it when I started to turn away from negativity. I have been thinking about it a lot these days and…I’d like to change it because I don’t ascribe the negativity of cynicism that a lot of people use when they say it. What they mean is to say that someone is jaded–not a cynic. A cynic just distrusts a person’s motivations toward something or someone else and while that can be seen as a negative I’d like to invite you to look at the world in which we live.

I tend to believe that on the whole, humanity is a lot more caring, compassionate, generous, and…wow…I’m actually shitting a brick thinking of another positive word. Oh! Altruistic. Yeah, we’re more of those things on the whole than most would think. Or at least I feel that way. The trouble is that we judge each other by our worst elements and not our best and as such, it makes a lot of sense not to just trust people on a whim. We see our worst behaviors on display every day with corrupt politicians, corrupt police, corrupt media, corrupt corporations, bankers, telemarketers, debt collectors, judges; car salesmen, mob bosses, criminal syndicates, dictators, etc. etc. The list goes on forever and ever amen, but!

The average person? Yeah, they’re more than likely not to fuck you over. So I can see why, in this environment, that cynicism is a great thing. It also keeps a person from following really stupid trends and really stupid people. Of course cynicism gets a bad reputation in the media and I’m figuring that a lot of people that use it think that a cynic is some sort of conspiracy theorist. It’s just a hunch because I usually see it adjoined with, “He/she did it for the money and to enrich themselves and not to help poor people,” or, “They did it for a tax write-off.” And, at least in my experience I’ve never ascribed motives like that to celebrities or politicians because I didn’t trust them. No. I just think that if given the choice between being a genuinely decent person and doing decent things that they could give a shit less unless it benefited them in some way.

This detector goes into overdrive when someone like say…a Donald Trump or a David Koch does something that benefits the group. Especially when these people have shown in the past to be loud-mouthed assholes that only care about their own enrichment. So yeah, I’m not a full time cynic like I used to be and I do follow my own beat with it. I don’t distrust everyone’s motives because if I had I’d totally never have spoken to that vampire from earlier. But I also don’t think that if given the choice that someone will tell you the whole truth and nothing but the truth. And in those times of questioning that it’s better to distrust someone than wholeheartedly trust them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

