Skip to content

Dead Print

August 12, 2015

This is my, “Sound like a Luddite,” entry, but I really hate this ‘new digital future’ that we’re entering and the various proclamations that ‘Print is dead’ or anything of the sort. Not necessarily because it isn’t true, but because it’s happening at all. I realize that processing large paper files is a pain in the dick, however, print is still very useful and a lot better than digital text. Mostly because once something is printed it’s that way forever. With digital text you can go back and edit and re-edit whatever you want. In principle I have no problem with this if it’s slight grammatical mistakes, but most of the time the editing is usually done by someone that wishes to obscure information and change history to the way they want it. Just look at the fact that Wikipedia has had to lock down various politician’s pages should be evidence of this ‘new digital future’s failures to seek any sort of permanence.

Sooo…yeah, I really don’t like that aspect of it. Also the fact that your information can be stolen very easily or edited so you can appear dead to the government. Yeah, that’s happening. I’m not saying that it’s all that widespread, but that it can happen at all and so easily is fucking terrifying. I’d be very okay if some things were printed again and made more permanent than they currently are because as good as digital info is, it’ll never have complete permanence and can always be edited or deleted by someone who knows what they’re doing. It also makes manipulating the public a lot easier if information is easily deleted or edited. I’m not a conspiracy theorist, but yeah…this stuff is possible.

It’s also why I don’t completely trust the Cloud. You’re essentially depending on those servers to always be in existence or to always operate as programmed. Or the company will remain in business. That’s just daffy. Keep physical copies of any information you have. As I said: this is my ‘sound like a Luddite’ post. But I feel that for those reasons, digitizing everything isn’t the glorious future that companies try to make it out to be. In fact, it’s pretty goddamn sad that we so easily trust these things because they’re so easily available. And I like technology, I like that I can edit a post that I kind of screwed up on or that I can write a whole post that no one will ever see because I won’t publish it, but technology does have a darker side and I feel like a lot of individuals in today’s society are too easily led into believing that what they’re seeing online hasn’t been changed around. Or maybe not. Maybe my cynical side is showing here. Either way: print needs to come back in a big way.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

