Skip to content

Weighty Losty Pt. 3

August 14, 2015

I’m happy to report that I’m now down to 330.2. Tada! I was feeling the discouragement bug for a few days this week, I’ll admit, but I’m sticking with it. I can’t go back now. Plus, losing weight makes me feel good and feel better about myself with each pound lost. Even when I was stuck at various points I knew eventually it would break in my favor, but there’s always this little side of me–of anyone really, that goes, “Guess this is as far as I’m going to go. It’s the end of the line for this thing.” And promptly give up. Or keep going. Well, I’m not a pugilist, but I definitely have a pugilistic spirit–apparently. Because like I wrote in an earlier entry on how the Rocky movies influence my life: Anyone can get knocked down and refuse to get back up; it’s getting back up and continuing to fight after you’ve been hit hard that is the true test of a person.

And look: if you’re stuck in a place between wanting to start losing weight and putting that thought to action just…look at me. I’m not doing anything special besides eating regularly or maybe a little less and the weight is coming off. When the weight comes off, do more. You certainly will feel it in your joints and seeing that number drop will give you all the encouragement you need to keep going. True, it does help to have people supporting you in any way they can and giving you words of encouragement. It’s helped immensely with people believing in me, but also admitting to myself that this is a problem that’s not going to fix itself without taking the first step.

Soo…yeah, sorry for the preach, but I know people are out there that are stuck in the same goddamn rut that I was in and it does end. All you need is to be unafraid to take the first step toward fixing it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

