Skip to content

You’re Worth It

October 4, 2015

This is a phrase that crops up a lot in my discussions with my friends, I’m not too sure if that’s an indication of the sort of friends I have or not, though. But I think we all generally have that little voice in our head that tells us that we’re no good, that every mistake we’ve ever made has been our fault, that we’re just bad people. We’re not, I’m not, you’re not. You’re a good person and deserve happiness just like everyone else. So what if you’ve never made a relationship work or keep getting rejected. Just don’t settle for something less than you deserve. It’s not like you murdered someone and have to flee the village in the dead of night. No, you’ve just made mistakes.

Maybe you fancy the wrong guy or girl or maybe someone isn’t as into you as you are into them. Nothing wrong with that, but never settle for people that honestly could give a shit about you outside of what you can do for them. That won’t ever make you happy and will keep you miserable and in emotional pain constantly. Just remember: you’re worth it. People do care about you and love you and want to see you do well. Hell, whoever’s reading this I don’t even know you and I want you to do well. Why? Because you’re probably like me in some way and I’ve been kicking the shit out of myself for so long that the world seemed dark and the pain would never end. I don’t ever want anyone to go through that.

You’re worth a lot so go out and get it. If you want that dream job then go for it; if your life is unfulfilling and you think you don’t deserve any better, then don’t settle because you are worth it. You’re worth a lot to me. And I’m sure there’s someone in your life who values you just as much as I do. Just don’t be afraid to be vulnerable, don’t be afraid to be afraid, don’t be afraid to be yourself because there’s only one you and that’s priceless. Just think: if you plucked one moment in time away from your past then you wouldn’t be you. So be proud of how you’ve turned out. You’re worth it.

This entry may seem really preachy and yeah, it’s meant to be, but we all know someone or are that someone that feels their life isn’t worth it. Just realize that we all have flaws–that’s a part of who we are. We’re flawed, I’m flawed, you’re flawed, but it’s in our flaws that perfect us, that make us stronger, that give us the courage to be who we are. Without them we’re just mindless drones going day by day, week by week,  and year by year doing nothing and never growing. We’re better than that, I’m better than that, you’re better than that.

Anyone that judges you for your flaws is an asshole anyway and not really worth your time. Be proud, be strong because you’re worth it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2015 8:39 pm

    Beautifully said! Love the motivation 🙂

Leave a Reply

