Skip to content

Weighty Losty: The Legend Continues (323.0)

October 16, 2015

I haven’t written about this recently because…nothing’s been happening. Okay. That’s not true, I went back up to 328 a month and a half ago and since then I’ve been waffling between 325 and 327. I don’t think it was anything I was doing so much as what I wasn’t doing: I wasn’t keeping track of things as rigidly as I did before and with class and trying to overcome anxiety my mind and attention span has went to shit. I do have a lot on my plate, so to speak, but the weight loss took a temporary backseat to everything else I was doing. I have been managing to keep pace with the change of season and everything else, though!

Every day I weigh myself I was just getting slightly annoyed at the lack of needle movement but not discouraged. I persevere, after all. I knew eventually the weight would start coming off again. I also know that people–including myself, sometimes have unrealistic expectations concerning weight loss. See, everyone wants the weight to come off tomorrow. Or today. So they’ll starve themselves, they’ll take up really shitty diets, they’ll pop pills, etc. Anything to get the weight off! But it just doesn’t work that way. Weight loss is really a game of ounces and sometimes you’ll lose an ounce or two or a pound and then nothing.

The nothing moments are the ones that test your mettle and how committed you are to truly changing things and truly trying to lose weight. I know from personal experience because I’ve went through this for years. I would lose some weight, start patting myself on the back for the few pounds lost aaaand…quit. Not necessarily because I wasn’t losing weight, I just got bored, I got complacent, I just didn’t care. Now that my eye is squarely focused on this, I tend to pay more attention to what’s going on and where I’m going with this and why I’m doing it. So the nothing moments are sucky and they will discourage you if you let them–the key is to maintain what you’re doing and to keep at it.

I know that’s easier said than done, but hopefully by the point you start to not lose weight as often or as quickly, you’ve built up skills and a routine that has been working for you. Trust me, the weight will start trickling downward again. It might three weeks or it might be a month but it will happen. Just stick with it and never give in to that voice that tells you to stop. I think shows like The Biggest Loser and the like give the impression that if you’re active enough that you’ll lose it fast and you probably will, however, a good chunk of those contestants end up regaining the weight.

Yeah, I’m very much advocating seeing yourself as the Tortoise to The Biggest Loser’s Hare. Sure, they get their results fast, but it’s also a cheaper and shorter lasting result. I’ve always seen weight loss as something that is not easily won and if it probably is…yeah…you’re very likely to gain it back. There is a method to my madness here: see, weight loss is all about behaviors and changing yourself and your outlook. If you’re like me, you became a fatty because of apathy and shame. Shame of who you are and worried that what’s underneath is ugly.

The people that tend to lose it quickly within a few weeks or even months haven’t likely changed that aspect to themselves. I’m not necessarily saying that they haven’t learned good habits, but without changing who they are mentally…their results are very likely going to be lost. And no, I don’t think this applies to all cases, but it is common enough that it’s a better than 50% chance of happening. So easy results leads to no fundamental changes in their psyche which leads to following the siren call of weight gain..again.

In my opinion, the slower you lose weight, the better, because it allows for you to transform who you are from being apathetic and shameful to someone who can be comfortable with themselves even while they’re losing weight. And trust me, being comfortable with yourself at a heavier weight is key and has helped me immensely. No, what’s underneath isn’t ugly and it never was. You’re a good person and you deserve the best, so don’t give up.

That is another key to success here, that I’ve found: just not giving up on myself. You have to see yourself as worth it and worthy of losing the weight and being happy with your results–and we all are. I don’t care if you’ve only lost 5lbs so far. That in itself is an effort and a key first step in losing weight and being happy. It’s the small successes you should be proud of more than the big successes. Those will come and you’ll love those, too when they happen but the small successes are what keep you going–they drive you toward bigger successes.

Also helps to keep in mind that if you’re a hundred pounds or fifty pounds overweight then it’s not going to be easy for you. That number’s going to be one huge mountain of suck that you’re going to have to climb, but you can do it. The easiest solution I’ve found is keeping an overarching goal weight (185lbs for me) a medium term weight (299lbs for me) and a short term goal weight (319 for me). Keeping those in mind will make it seem less daunting. Or at least it does for me. That way you can see your results so much more easily. Yeah, you may not be at that overarching goal weight in a year. Hell, you might not even be at your medium term goal weight, but I can guarantee you that you’ll at least hit your short term goal weight.

I tend to keep my short term goal weight in no more than 10lb intervals and no less than 5lbs. Those are reasonable amounts of weight to lose a month at a time–depending on your activity level. And fluctuations no more than 2lbs a day. I know that sounds silly, but it keeps me abreast of how I’ve done. If I lose more than 2lbs in a day then I know I’ve been starving myself and if I gain more than 2lbs, I know I’ve been eating way more than I’ve wanted.

This all brings me back to my current weight: I’m finally down to 323.0…yep. It’s been a fucking hassle the whole time, but I’ve done it and I’m feeling fantastic about it. And if you’re thinking losing weight is beyond you…it isn’t, trust me, if a lazy slacker fuck like me can lose 38lbs and keep it off, then you can too. You just have to stay motivated and don’t get discouraged by slow results, that’s all. And you don’t even really need to modify your diet all that much.

The goal, for me, is not to change the foods I enjoy completely, but to eat less of them and to be more active. That’s really all there is to it. There’s no mystery, no fad diet pill, no fad diet, nothing. Oh, and a word on restriction: I don’t know how many weight loss professionals would agree with this, but don’t restrict foods, but do restrict how much you eat of them. My thinking on this–from experience–is that the more foods you tell yourself you can’t have anymore, then the more you’ll crave them. The psychology behind this is the whole ‘forbidden fruit’ way of thinking. It’s like cigarettes or illicit drugs or alcohol. The more they’re restricted the more people want them (see: prohibition and the war on drugs).

So have your fast food and have your junk food and have your sweets, but! And a big but here, be mindful of how many of them you eat. The key is not to restrict yourself, just keep those cravings at bay. The whole thing about weight loss that I kinda forgot earlier in this is to be mindful about being mindful. It’s why we procrastinate and why nothing gets done: we never think about thinking about them.

Anyway, these are just my thoughts on weight loss and what has helped me thus far. Sure, you could probably argue that they’re why my weight loss sputters and stalls occasionally and that may be, but it’s working for me and maybe it can work for you or anyone else or maybe you want to alter it a bit. The main key is weight loss and maintaining that weight loss. So we’re all in this together. Just…find something that works for you and stick to it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

