Skip to content

A Confessional

March 2, 2017

“You ever try to talk to a corpse? It’s boring!” – Jack Goodman, An American Werewolf In London

I have a confession to make: for a long time…maybe about 8 months or so I watched…anti-SJW youtubers…yep. That one. And that one too. Oh and him too. To be honest, their views to align with my own: I generally find any group with a name annoying, including my fellow Atheists. I find gender pronoun shit to be bullshit, and I find university campuses are churning out witless assholes on both sides of the aisle, and that racism against whites is a thing and not this whole, “Racism is privilege plus power,” bullshit. It’s putting lipstick on a pig and justifying horrible behavior just on the basis of skin color…which is the basis of racism. Now, if you want to get into a deeper discussion of it with me then great. But the point is that I don’t like the SJW crowd. Not because I don’t believe in social justice–I do. I just don’t believe it’s what they think it is.

This is a tangent beside the point. I think the bridge too far for me with this is when some openly advocated for Trump’s presidency. Whatever you think of Hillary Clinton, she would have at least not been as awful as Trump. Even before that I was like, “Here’s the daily wankfest.” I think what really started doing it for me is how mono-subject they were becoming and consequently boring. You can only spout so much about this subject before it becomes an exercise in frustration.

“I get it. We know. These people are bad and don’t trust them.”

Hooboy…glad that phase is over. Never. Again. I can see the appeal but it is not for me. All it does is create this constant state of pressure with no release. It’s like a story with no ending. No climax. No…anything. Just a continuation of the same boring, tired arguments. I think that’s when I finally snapped and got tired of listening to these people. I enjoy social commentary and they were being ballsy enough to counter the current narrative that does limit free speech and free exercise of ideas. But whatever value these people have in their commentary doesn’t outweigh the fact that they’re just fucking boring people. I decided I didn’t want to become perpetually angry and annoyed at bullshit.

And it is bullshit. While the actions of the politically aggressive will always roll downhill because that’s what bullshit tends to do, none of the stuff they were commenting on affected my life one iota. If there’s a signal and a noise, supposedly, then these people are definitely the noise. I’m glad I got the hell out of that cycle and definitely glad that my views have mellowed out a bit from that time of perpetual outrage. It’s tiring and takes way more time to be in that frame of mind than it could to…say…paint a picture. Or take a picture or do something productive.

This is why I’m re-committing myself to putting stuff out into the world and creating rather than destroying. Destruction is easy, as these people have clearly shown, but I feel they’re lonely and bereft of a fulfilling life. I could be wrong, but when you’re updating a lot to constantly bitch about issues and people that do not affect your life that maybe you’re the one that needs to get over it. Expand. Evolve. Change. In my time watching them I never got the sense that they would ever change or become different people. No, instead it’s just the constant circle-jerk.

I’m thankful that bridge too far came about or else I’d probably still be listening to their stuff and not cringing every time I hear their shit. Now I just go to great lengths to avoid it and just focus on entertainment there and hopefully everyone else does the same. A Nightmare on Elm Street did have a salient message to give: the only power something has is the power that we give it. If we choose to ignore it then it ceases to be and ceases to affect our lives. Granted, this isn’t to say if someone has an AK-47 that you should ignore that, however, if you stop focusing on the noise then it ceases to have power over you and your life. This is how I’m viewing it. Just ignore them and your life will improve.

That goes for both camps of the debate. I now know why I don’t join groups or cliques. God…you’d think I’d listen to myself a lot more by now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

