Skip to content

My Dad Has Cancer

May 22, 2017

So…as the title says: he acquired it by taking his anti-rejection meds. Those lovely little pills that keep the white blood cells at bay. I’m not dealing with it too well and he’s certainly not dealing with it well, either. Especially now that he’s in the hospital because he was running a high-ish fever the day after his bone biopsy. It feels like a slow, steady march to treatment. He’s been dealing with the symptoms for about 2 months. He’s got the back pain that seems associated with lymphoma. I’m not sure if that means it’s late stage or if this is the beginning of the cancer. He had had a CT last August for an unrelated issue and nothing was there. Me and my family are hoping this is just early enough.

So many unanswered questions here. the hospital keeps pumping him full of percocet and he’s feeling loopy and having trouble remembering things. It’s awful seeing him like this. He’s my father. I guess I never let go of my father being my hero. He’s always been there for me and when the chips are down, he always had a plan.All I can do now is hope they start treatment soon and that it’s not too late. This wait, though, and the unknowns…awful awful. I never knew that it was this slow of a process.

All I can do is hope now. I hope, I hope, I hope.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

